Greatest Ever Team

On 25th March 2007, there was an enjoyable night held at Fir Park as they held the First ‘Greatest Ever’ Awards. Throughout the tail end of 2006 and early 2007 fans were able to register their votes online or by taking out the forms from the Match days programmes and sending them to the club. Categories included Best Manager, Best Goal, Best Captain, Cult Hero, Greatest Ever Player and Best Team, where all 11 on field Positions would be voted for.

Ian St John

The event was a huge success as it brought out the current crop of stars as well as Legends from the past. As it kicked off the League winning side of 1932 and the cup victors of 1952 were honoured. Best Manager Award went to Tommy McLean, Tommy Boyd won Best Captain, Colin O’Neil won Best Goal for his stunning strike in the 1991 Semi Final against Celtic, and finally Steve Kirk won the Cult Hero award.

Colin O'Neil vs Celtic 1991
Colin O’Neill celebrates his stunning goal in the 1991 Scottish Cup Semi.

The top award of ‘Greatest Ever Player’ – was awarded to Andy Paton. He played for the club for 16 years, won both domestic trophies, the 2nd Division Title and not to mention was capped 3 times for Scotland.

Greatest Ever Team - Andy Paton
Andy Paton

The Best Team provided an interesting selection of players held in the highest regard by the club:

Ally Maxwell
Joe Wark
Davie Whiteford
Bert McCann
Andy Paton
Charlie Aitken
Johnny Gahagan
Dougie Arnott
Ian St John
Willie Pettigrew
Davie Cooper